Merge
  • 28 Oct 2022
  • 5 Minutes to read
  • Contributors
  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Merge

  • Dark
    Light
  • PDF

Merge is an operation available for Stages and Versions in Projects. To be able to perform a merge you need to have at least one Project in Corezoid. For that, you need to have at least one company other than My Corezoid in your Corezoid environment.

Merging is adding data from a Stage, Version or a file (exported Stage or Version) to another Stage. Thus, you can have a Stage or Version or a Stage/Version file as a source and an existing Stage as a target.

Checks before a merge

Before performing a merge, please check the following:

1. No source Stage process has any errors;
2. All source Stage processes are active;
3. All source Stage processes are deployed;
4. The target Stage is immutable.

Preparation for a Merge: Deploy Stage Processes and Make a Stage an Immutable One

Only a Stage with all the processes deployed can be made an immutable one. If there is at least one undeployed process in a Stage, the icon will be displayed near the Stage name in the list:
undeployed processes.png

You will also be shown the error message when trying to make a Stage an immutable one:

merge-undeployed-error.png

Deploy Processes in a Stage

To see if there are undeployed processes in a Stage, open the Stage and view the Stage process list - the undeployed processes will have the warning icon displayed near their names (as with the Stage name):

undeployed procs in stage.png

For deploying these processes, you can open each undeployed process and click the Deploy button. However, it’s not convenient if you have two or more processes undeployed. Thus, you can deploy multiple processes in a Stage quickly and easily by right-clicking on the Stage with undeployed processes and selecting the Deploy in the menu:

rollback-in menu highl.png

In the open window, click the Deploy all button to deploy all undeployed processes in a Stage in a single click:

deploy all.png

You can also deploy processes manually one by one by clicking each process in the Deploy Stage’s Processes window and then clicking the Deploy button in the process editor.

Make a Stage an Immutable One

Only immutable Stages can be used as merge targets. In Projects, these Stages are marked with a lock icon:

immutable stage.png

If you select a non-immutable Stage as a target, the merge will not start and you will get the error message:

only into immutable.png

To transform a Stage into an immutable one:

  1. Right-click on the needed Stage in the list, and select the Edit in the menu:

merge-stage-edit.png

  1. In the Stage edit menu, check the Immutable stage box (1) and click the OK button (2):

merge-switch to immutable.png

Merge a Stage, Version or an Export File into a Stage

Before performing a merge operation, check that
  • No source Stage process has any errors;
  • All source Stage processes are active;
  • All source Stage processes are deployed;
  • The target Stage is immutable.

To perform a merge:

  1. Go to your Projects and select a Stage or a Version you want to use as a merge source;
  2. Right-click on the selected Stage or Version and select the Merge in the menu:

Merge menu-1.png

  1. In the merge menu, select a merge source. You can select a Stage as a source.
    To do this, open the Stages tab of the Source column to the left and select the needed Stage in the list:

source stages.png

You will get the warning message if any of the processes in a source Stage has errors:

merge-process has errors.png

As well as in case any of the source Stage processes is not active:

merge-paused process in a stage file.png

3.1 To select a Version as a merge source, open the Versions tab of the Source column and select the Version you need:

source-versions.png

3.2 To select a file of an exported Stage or Version as a merge source, open the From file tab of the Source column:

source-from file unloaded.png

3.3 Then drag and drop an export file to the drag and drop field, or click the Browse file button to browse for the file:

source-from file loaded.png

  1. Select a target immutable Stage in the Target column to the right and click Continue:

merge-continue.png

  1. Review the differences between the source and target objects in the menu:

merge-review.png

In the Changes column to the right, the difference between source and target objects is displayed (if any). Objects with the same name but different content are listed as modified, objects to be added from source to target are listed as created, and the objects not present in the source are listed as deleted as they will be deleted from the target.

If you have any undeployed processes in your source Stage, the warning icon will be displayed near the source Stage name. If you click Continue, the merge will not proceed and the error will be displayed above the merge target and source selection window:

merge-source-undeployed.png

To perform a merge, you need to deploy all processes in your source Stage first.

  1. If you want to change the source or the target, click Back to return to the previous menu. If you want to proceed, click Merge.
  2. After the merge is completed successfully, the following window is displayed in the right lower corner of the screen:

merge meni-merge completed.png

You can quickly open the target stage by clicking the Open stage in the upload master window. You can also quickly open the target stage by clicking the to stage link in the merge notification:

merge complete-notifications.png

Unsuccessful merge

Show errors

If a merge was unsuccessful, you will get a corresponding notification in the upload master window:

rollback info.png

It means that there were errors in source Stage processes (i.e. nodes referred to were missing, etc.). To see the errors due to which the merge failed, click the Show errors button in the upload master window:

rollback info-show.png

A list of errors will be displayed, in which you can find the corresponding processes and correct the errors:

rollback show errors.png

Rollback

As a Stage created during an unsuccessful merge contains errors you can’t use it as is. In this case you need to correct the errors and repeat a merge operation. Before you start correcting errors, you need to revert the unsuccessful merge changes. You can do this quickly and easily using the Rollback feature.

To perform the Rollback right away, click the Rollback button in the upload master window:

rollback info-rollback.png

You can also perform a Rollback from the Stages menu by right-clicking a Stage created during an unsuccessful merge (it has an error mark) and selecting the Rollback in the menu:

rollback-in menu highl.png

After that, an unsuccessful merge changes will be reverted for you to fix errors and perform a merge once again. After the Rollback is complete, you will get the notification:

rollback-restored info.png